Climbing practice

It’s official…I have a new hobby – bouldering! I always have enjoyed scrambling along rocks but I’ve never tried indoor climbing before, and my friend Felicity is a bit of an enthusiast, both rock climbing and bouldering, so offered to take me along. It was so much fun, and although my hands were pretty blistered afterwards I was surprised by my upper body strength – I wasn’t expecting to find that aspect of it as easy as I did. Needless to say I want to go again ASAP. If I still enjoy it after a month or two I’ll invest in a chalk bag and some climbing shoes – eek!

In other news I’m on week six of eating healthier and still feeling great. I went a bit off the rails on Sunday morning and put Nutella on my otherwise very healthy protein pancakes ….oops! (no regrets). But other than that I’ve stayed on track. Looking forward to seeing more progress, and also gaining more upper body strength. One of my goals for this year was to be able to do pull ups, and now that I’ve been introduced to climbing I have a great opportunity to develop my strength out of the gym. I also felt like it helped my self-confidence, I was a bit shaky when I started as I kept doubting myself, but I ended up feeling pleasantly surprised by how strong I felt. I also usually feel pretty daunted and get anxious in situations with a lot of people, but everyone was really friendly and it was a good crowd.

17793110_10154290334136502_477123036_n

Taken 6 weeks ago

Has anyone got any tips for a novice climber?

Leave a Reply

