Losing my car crash virginity & trying to overcome a plateau

Good morning all,

God the title to this post sounds a little depressing doesn’t it…Haha! I’m a little behind on my week 6 update – I can’t believe I only have a couple of weeks left. Until this week I’ve enjoyed it, but this week has been tough as I feel like I haven’t made progress for a couple of weeks now, and it’s demotivating when that happens! More on that later…

But firstly – losing my car crash virginity. We were driving back from a work lunch in Oxford last Friday. It was about 5.30pm and we were on the motorway, listening to a movie review podcast, which I was actually really enjoying. You know in some cars you can get those devices that help you to park by beeping when your bumper or bonnet get too close to another car/object? Well, we were cruising along and suddenly my boss, the driver of the car, put on the brakes suddenly. We were almost at a stop and would have been fine – in fact he said he was about to say “sorry for braking so quickly”, when the van behind us went into us at practically full speed. I didn’t see anything, but the beeping. I remember the beeping. It just started and then suddenly got so much faster and I was just thinking ‘why’s it going so fast when we….’ and then SMASH. I didn’t see the van hit the back of us. Apparently he tried to stop but the “peddle got stuck” or something. We think he was probably on his phone. Anyway, I was in the back, and my colleagues were in the front. I don’t remember the exact moment I realised I was in a crash – my arms were over my head with my cardigan covering me before I fully comprehended what was happening – so I didn’t see anything, I just heard it all happening. I didn’t take the cardigan or arms from around my head until we had stopped. I remember holding my breath and thinking “ok this is happening. stay still. stay calm.” I was scared to come out from under my cardigan and see the others incase they were hurt, but they were both fine, thank god – both their airbags had popped and the dust still hadn’t settled. According to them we had been hit in the back and pushed into the car in front and then swerved and crashed into the barrier in the middle of the motorway. After checking we were all okay, I started noticing the damage to the car – there was shattered glass all over me and the back seat where the back windscreen had just completely shattered. I looked out behind us and there was car parts scattered across the road. Cars carried on going past but had slowed, gawping at the car and taking photos. A couple of other cars involved were stopped behind us. From there it all went pretty quickly – the police arrived and shut the road temporarily so we could move the car to the hard shoulder. The emergency services were great – arrived quickly, very professional and really nice people.

The power of the van coming into the back of us pushed us all forward and the seatbelt left a burn mark on my neck, and by falling back into the seat I landed on my lower back which, I didn’t feel properly until later that night (because adrenaline), was bruised and swollen and incredibly tender (and still is bruised and sore almost a week later).Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 10.28.13.png Have you ever tried taking a picture of your lower back? Not easy! This was taken the evening of the crash.

So we are very lucky that nobody was hurt badly – although the car had to be written off. In a way we were lucky it was such a new car – I’d have potentially had worse injuries in his older car, being in the back. I was glad to get home and get into bed that’s for sure!

In other news…

Here’s my week 6 photos – I took the progress photos the morning after the crash and I do think I was more bloated than normal because of stress. I felt uncomfortable and my back was in PAIN. But I think there’s still some good progress:

I did get a bit down about it all this week – yesterday and the day before. Just because I feel like I have plateaued and I was really frustrated. But I feel more positive today and just going to switch it up – workout and nutrition. My body is obviously getting used to what I am doing currently so I need to step it up a little!

So yes! Two more weeks and I’ll be done of the Mind Body Me challenge, but I will still carry on with eating well and working out 3-4 days a week. So far I’ve realised I’m intolerant to onions and possibly garlic – more so than having cheese. AHH!! LIIIIIFEEEE!!!!

Feel free to share any tips on how to overcome a plateau below!

Leave a Reply

